Senate Committee on Student Affairs Minutes February 5, 2008

The following committee members were present: Azad Ismail Ali, Terry Appolonia, Ray Beisel, Frank (Pete) Brooks, Yong S. Colen, Kate Cook (student), Reena Dube, Linda Hall, Heather Powers, Sue Rieg, Terry Rittenberger, Vanessa Varacalli (student), Heide Witthoeft

The following committee members were excused: Dennis Hulings, Beatrice Fennimore, Rhonda Luckey

The following committee members were absent: Tracey Cekada, James Collins (student), Germaine McArdle (graduate student)

The following Student Government Association Senators were in attendance: Michael Daniel, Mehmet Beyazit Disli, Stephen Fisher, John McMurray, Michele Moulten, Slade Powell

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Beisel at 3:30p.m.

Old Business

1. The minutes of the November 17, 2007 minutes were approved.

New Business

- 1. Chairperson Beisel introduced Mr. Jack Makara from the Office of Housing and Residence Life. Mr. Makara reported that all new Living-Learning buildings currently being constructed will be ready for August 2008. Mini-grants are available for faculty and/or staff members who wish to submit a proposal to enhance the Living-Learning Communities. Grants up to \$2500.00 each will be awarded for resources such as speakers, field trips, and research. Applications are presently being accepted and will be reviewed weekly until funding is exhausted.
- 2. Mr. Mike Lemasters from Housing and Residence Life also addressed the group regarding the new Living-Learning Residence facilities. He reported that 50% will be filled by new

New §tudentMCID 25 BDCsidence VD 7Rf mace8 -222sporn (BTSpan MC288.CeMC 4TT0 1Tf0 Tc 0 Tw

----RESOLUTION SENT TO PRESIDENT and PRESIDENT'S CABINET MEMBERS-----

---- Original Message -----

From: Susan Patterson

To: Tony Atwater; Peter.Broad@iup.edu; Kyle Campbell; Robin Gorman; Robert Davies; John Eck; Rhonda H. Luckey; Barbe Moore; Jimmy EiCampbell